Miss America Tickets Now On Sale!

National Academy of Honor

2014 Academy of Honor Award Recipient - Shelley Taylor

During the 2014 Miss America Competition in Atlantic City, New Jersey, The Miss America Organization proudly announced Shelley Taylor, Executive Director of the Miss Michigan Scholarship Program, as the recipient of the 2014 Academy of Honor Award. This prestigious award was established in 1996 to recognize one individual annually who has provided outstanding service to the Miss America Organization at the State or Local pageant level.

Shelley was presented with the prestigious Waterford crystal eagle during the Wednesday evening preliminary competition on stage in the iconic Boardwalk Hall by CEO and Chairman of the Board Sam Haskell, III. Sam stated, "Shelley's years of volunteering began in the mid- 1970's and today, she is the heartbeat of the Miss Michigan Organization. She instills the values and the importance of community service in her contestants and we are proud to salute her achievements."

Through the decades, Shelley has held multiple positions within the Miss Michigan Scholarship Program that ultimately led her to being named the Executive Director in 2005. She has brought on amazing sponsors who understand the goals of the Miss Michigan Scholarship Program and have helped her to grow the program. Shelley continually looks for ways to improve her organization, and she has been able to increase the number of local competitions and contestants competing which builds the strength of the Michigan program. Shelley embodies the Miss America program and by doing so, her example inspires us all to do better.

Shelley's name has also been added to the plaque that celebrates all Academy of Honor winners which is on display at the Miss America Organization's national headquarters. In addition, the Miss America Organization will award a $5,000 scholarship grant to the Miss Michigan Scholarship Fund in recognition of Shelley's achievement.

Miss America Academy of Honor Award Recipients include: Harlen Gudger, Virginia 2013, Sally Johnston, New Jersey 2012; William J. Haggerty, New Hampshire, 2011; Nan Teninbaum, Alabama, 2010; Mary Sullivan, Florida, 2009; Dana Phillips, Oregon, 2008; Kay Dickinson, North Carolina, 2007; Bruce Robert, Massachusetts, 2006; Gail Sanders, South Carolina, 2004; Charles Welch, Oklahoma, 2003; Tess Beauchamp, Connecticut, 2002; Robert W. Arnhym, California, 2001; Joseph P. Sanders, South Carolina, 2000; Larry Webber, Missouri, 1999; Meg Geraghty, New Hampshire, 1998; Robert Wheeler, Arkansas, 1997; and Tom Hensley, Tennessee, 1996.

Donate Today!

Join Our Mailing List

Press Room


Stay in Touch

Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  Instagram  RSS